Law

Overview

The Law Department represents the City of Youngstown on all legal issues and acts as Counsel to all other departments within the City of Youngstown. It also encompasses a number of activities and is directly involved in civil litigation, union/management labor negotiations and arbitration procedures, legislative functions, risk management and dispute resolution processes.

Attorney Martin Hume is the Law Director. The Law Department includes the Prosecutor’s Office and Risk Management Office.

The Law Department and Prosecutor’s Office are located on the fourth floor of City Hall while Risk Management is stationed on the fifth floor.

Meet the Director

Martin Hume

Martin Hume, Director of the Law Department, serves as legal counsel and advisor to all City departments, including the Mayor’s Office and Youngstown City Council. He handles labor and personnel matters for the 900 employees employed by the City of Youngstown. The Law Director is also responsible for general civil litigation and oversight of the City Prosecutor’s Office.

Risk Management

Terri Shasho – Claims Investigator: 330.742.8719

Risk Management manages Workers’ Compensation claims and deals with safety related issues. In addition, Risk Management handles insurance related matters, including health and life insurance benefits of City employees and property and casualty insurance for the City.

City of Youngstown retirees or their representatives should call 330.742.8743 for the following:

  • To report your present address or a change of address
  • To inquire about life insurance benefits
  • To change a beneficiary on your life insurance policy
  • To advise the City of the death of a retiree and/or apply for a death benefit.

Prosecutor's Office

City Prosecutor – Dana Lantz

Main Office Phone: 330.742.8791; FAX: 330.742.8794

Attorney Dana Lantz – City Prosecutor
Attorney Shelli Freeze- Senior Assistant Law Director
Attorney Kathleen Thompson - Senior Assistant Law Director
Attorney Jeffrey Moliterno - Assistant Law Director
Joni Stewart – Assistant Secretary/Legal
Concetta Precurato - Assistant Secretary/Legal

Frequently Asked Questions

Bar Association, how do I contact Mahoning County's?

Mahoning County Bar Association can be reached at 330.746.2933 and are located at 114 East Front Street.

Legal Aid, should I call the City's Law Department if I need legal aid?

No. The Youngstown Law Department represents the City of Youngstown. If you are in need of legal aid, you should contact Northeast Ohio Legal Services at 330.744.3196.

Ordinance, how do I get a copy of just one?

You can call the City Council at 330.742.8709 to obtain a copy of any City Ordinance, copies are 10 cents per page.

Pothole Claim, how long will it take to investigate?

Usually the investigation takes several weeks. The Law Department will notify you as soon as they have the necessary information.

Pothole damage, how do I make a claim for damage to my vehicle?

Any vehicle damage that was caused by a pothole must be sumitted in writing to the Law Department with the following information:

  1. When and where the damage occurred
  2. Insurance information stating the amount of the deductible
  3. An estimate or receipt for repairs

Mail to:

Youngstown Law Department
26 S. Phelps Street
Youngstown, OH 44503

Forms

Contact Information

Address:
4th Floor, City Hall
26 South Phelps Street
Youngstown, OH 44503
Office Phone:330.742.8874
FAX:330.742.8867
Hours:Monday thru Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
Name Title/Phone/E-mail
Nicole Billec Assistant Law Director
330.742.8874
nbillec@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Debra Byrd Legislative Aide
330.742.8874
dbyrd@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Philecia Carpenter Law Secretary
330.742.8874
pcarpenter@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Anthony Donofrio Deputy Law Director
330.742.8874
adonofrio@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Shelli Freeze Assistant Law Director
330.742.8791
sfreeze@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Rebecca Gerson First Assistant Law Director
330.742.8874
rgerson@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Martin Hume Law Director
330.742.8874
mhume@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Marti Kane Human Resource Supervisor
330.742.8969
mkane@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Dana Lantz Deputy Law Director/City Prosecutor
330.742.8791
danalantz@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Jeffrey Moliterno Assistant Law Director
330.742.8874
jmoliterno@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Concetta Precurato Assistant Secretary/Legal
330.742.8791
cprecurato@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Terri A. Shasho Claims Investigator
330.742.8719
tshasho@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Joni Stewart Assistant Secretary/Legal
330.742.8791
jstewart@cityofyoungstownoh.com
Kathleen Thompson Assistant Law Director
330.742.8791
kthompson@cityofyoungstownoh.com